Security Groups

Groups are used to restrict access and visibility of objects in the strategic plan (blocks, metrics, risks) from unauthorized users. For instance, when you add a group to a block, users who don’t belong to the group will no longer see that block or any of its children. As metrics and risks are non-hierarchical, adding a group will just hide that object. With calculated metrics, you can group the component pieces of the calculation as a way to hide them from view.  Groups can contain users as well as other groups, this means that the users of any child group selected below will also be permitted to see objects that are restricted to this group.

The security table displays:

  • Title – the name of the group

  • Description – a brief description

  • Users – the number of users included in the group

  • Groups (C/D) – the number of groups included in the group,  children groups (C), and total descendent groups (D)

  • Blocks – the number of blocks added to a group directly / the number of blocks that have inherited a group

  • Metrics – the number of metrics contained in the group

  • Risks – the number of risks contained in the group

Creating a new group

Selecting the Add Group button will allow the creation of a new group.  The following attributes can be configured:

  • Title – name of the group

  • Description – longer description for the group

  • Users – Selected users will have access to the blocks, metrics, and risks which are restricted to this group. NB: Administrators are automatically given permission to every group and will appear as disabled items (greyed out) in the right-hand list.

  • Groups – The group will include all the users and any groups selected. Groups listed on the right are included. Disabled groups on the left are groups that already include the group you’re editing.